My Absence

Just a quick message to apologise for my absence of late. With the recent increased activity in both work and my personal life, I simply haven’t had the time to ponder an idea for a post, let alone actually formulate one. I’m hoping that in the coming months this will settle down and I can get back to writing more often. The same can be said for my contribution to Generation Adaptation.

I as always invite readers and the already included contributors to feel free in reposting work they create elsewhere on New Anthro or to contact me about doing so.

Until I have more to offer, here’s a quick graph I’ve put together, comparing my site’s recorded atmospheric CO2 levels against the NOAA global averages over the same time span. It just goes to show how individual one site can be (it’s not far from agricultural land and I’ve recently realised that we can “see” when a farmer has had a burn off – something we will need to be careful about when looking into net primary productivity; yet another example as to why demanding scientists provide their raw data to people who don’t understand the site specifics is illogical) and therefore how important networks of site data is so fundamental to global climate and ecological research. The graph itself doesn’t really say much, I just think it looks cool.

I’ll be presenting to an environmental interest group next week and, depending how well that goes, I may put it up as a podcast or something similar.

2 thoughts on “My Absence

  1. No need to apologise Tim , I was always amased at how you cpould find time to write such complexed and detailed essays .
    A podcast sounds interesting .

    A quote I read the other day , The good thing about science is that even if you dont believe in it it is still true ! .

    Like

    1. Cheers David.

      The podcast is now online, here.

      That is the good thing about science and what humbles a good scientist – you have to learn to get over your own assumptions and get used to being proven wrong (far from an easy task and definitely one we never truly master).

      Like

Leave a Reply

