Innovation is key to the survival of our society, Pt. 1

Anyone who has been following my blog would have noticed that I’ve spent a bit of time on fuels recently (where did those case studies go to? Sorry, I’ll jump back onto some optimism soon). What is interesting is that an elderly economist who recently gave me some grief has updated his own space and part of what he says I actually agree with.

Now his blog starts with a comment that he is obviously proud of and wished for his audience to read through. It rambles through the usual denial points (his favourite is the, “it’s been warmer before!” statements – and he never thanked me for letting him know about the Roman warm period, which I never heard him use until I let him know about it). Anyway, once you get past this debunked stuff, you get to the meat of something interesting. He starts to sound a bit like me, however our instigating pressures are different. In short, he makes the point that, as we’re so reliant on fossil fuels, any taxes placed on it to curb emissions will cause the collapse of the western world. He gets a little paranoid, mentioning  de-industrialization, but his is elderly and does show traits akin to Monckton, so I’ll just let it slide (and he calls me the alarmist).

He is correct however, when he makes the point that limiting fossil fuels will put massive pressures on current practices – which would probably lead to them becoming obsolete… But of course, this cannot be the whole story or else why would we be such polar opposites? He, like many others saying the same type of statements are of course “cherry picking” what suits their argument, which falls short of the bigger picture. Sure, in his case, dusk will set on a life of abundance of fossil fuels – so why would he be concerned? Climate change, ocean acidification, fossil fuel scarcity, agro-chemical limitations, etc; these are all problems of future generations.

The point is this (which I will develop more later); placing pressure on fossil fuel usage is part of the idea, with the other being the encouragement of innovative ways to greet a new and certainly different world. Prof. Barry Brooks over at BraveNewClimate has long been doing a excellent job on opening discussion on this topic. We need to face our future creatively and openly or else, if we put our heads in the sand like our elderly friend and others like him would have us do, we will face their dire future.

More to come. (I’ve decided to break this up as I’m aware of my ability to write endless, which is an unfair test of the readers endurance).

2 thoughts on “Innovation is key to the survival of our society, Pt. 1

  1. Wow, great series – I haven’t had a chance to read it all yet but will in the next couple of days. I, too, suffer from ‘long-post-itis’ on occasion, it can be hard to know how to break things up…

    Like

Leave a Reply

