The toothless tigers that watch their forest turn to plains of dust.

I have to say, in the wake of PM Rudd’s back down on seriously addressing climate change in any meaningful way for at least a couple years, President Obama’s challenges also (with most other countries seemingly waiting for Obama’s team to make the first move) and the overwhelming ignorance demonstrated at large in almost any given media outlet, I can’t help but stress the need for active engagement with communities from those able to provide education, guidance and support. Climate change is only one aspect of a wide range of issues currently at hand or soon to be knocking on our door (examples in my previous posts) due to our addiction to fossil fuels.

James A. McWha, the Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Adelaide, made an excellent point, in a call to universities to play a more active role and that stuck with me (the edited version can be found here); “We cannot be aloof and uncommitted commentators. Are we providing viable solutions and policy options, or simply doing research to confirm we have a problem that current policies will not fix?”

In a previous position, I felt I was part of a toothless tiger and Professor McWha highlights my greatest fear; inaction in the face of overwhelming evidence. I feel that I know enough to know that we need to start tackling the various issues rather than wait until our effects are inexcusable. My next post will focus on a few examples to highlight the efforts taken by various groups to make noise and get attention, while adding nothing substantial to environmental concerns. This I’ll do to explain how far from logic the pop-media has gone. Following this, I’d like to illustrate come excellent examples of policy makers and academic groups working with communities to tackle local environmental issues (if you have any others to add, let me know) to illustrate what any one of us can do on various scales.

I refuse to be another toothless tiger.

Leave a Reply

