Welcome to the “Post Mayan” World – New Anthro Back Online

Hi all,

I hope you all had a good time with friends and family over the festive season.

I’m signing on again for the New Year and I thought I may start with some musings over what my guesses are for my focus over 2013.

First and foremost, we are now undeniably in the Anthropocene. After a decade long drought, two years of flooding and now another year of dry bush fire conditions, thrown in with massive storm after massive storm, only the most deluded would ignore the fact that the predictive science has been correct; warmer average climates mean more energetic weather.

So this probably needs to be pressed harder.

For a while now, I’ve focused somewhat of my activities on various ideological positions that border upon outright conspiracy theorists – ended the year with a look at fluoridation of water, with a trolling Marilyn Haines from the Queenslanders for Safe Water, Air and Food Inc. whom remained silent after I spent some time addressing her issues seriously.

It is a point that many secular enthusiasts online have made and one that I share; dogmatic ideologies are the real poison to human wellbeing. This isn’t just religion mind you, but all fundamentalists – even liberal groups, such as PETA (whom I’ve discussed previously as well). The only answer is to hold them accountable for their nonsense and reinforce the need for better education. This includes, in my opinion, removal of gates from scientific information. Knowledge is power in the hands of those who hold it. Universal knowledge leads to genuine democracy – something that is at best a pipe dream today.

We are at a crossroads where the hopeful nativity of yesteryear does not suit the capacity our species has now required. We need to “get real” on the subject and develop new lines of thinking that are more honest and moral. The Spiderman line couldn’t be more suitable; “with great power comes great responsibility.”

So far, the latter has been wilfully ignored. This requires more attention and will so on New Anthro.

Lastly, I hope to move to more video presentations. I’m aware I ask a lot in my average post. I’m often told that just because I can quickly produce 1000 word post doesn’t mean I should. I have the gift of the gab, I know. I suspect I would kinder to my readers if I instead placed such articles in a most visual context. With any luck, I can make the transition easily and my audience like the result.

Leave a Reply

